Architectural history of the world's longest castle

The castle which stands as a witness to over one thousand years of history, is the focus of a visit to Burghausen and a picturesque feast for the senses and the  soul.

  • 2nd/1st century BC
    Blick von Österreich auf die Burghauser Burghöfe und den Burghang

    Presumably a Celtic sectional fortification

  • 8th/9th century
    Blick von Österreich auf die Burghauser Hauptburg, Altstadt und eine Plätte

    Presumably the fortified official court of the Agilolfingian dukes for the protection of salt shipping

  • 11th/ 12th century
    Die Außenansicht der Hedwigskapelle und die Türme der weltlängsten Burg in Burghausen

    Seat of the Count of Burghausen (until 1164); first castle expansion under Sighard X of the Aribones (around 1090); Henry the Lion is in possession of the castle; further expansion under the Wittelsbachs (from 1180)

  • 13th century
    Blick von der Salzach auf die Burghauser Hauptburg und den Burghang

    Completely new facility under Duke Henry XIII of Lower Bavaria after the first partition of Bavaria (1255); second residence of the Dukes of Lower Bavaria after Landshut; border stronghold against Salzburg and Passau; oldest preserved structure (main castle)

  • 14th century
    Blick in den Innenhof der Burghauser Hauptburg vom Aussichtspunkt des Museums

    Now fully expanded as a defence facility

  • 15th century
    Brücke mit Graben zur Burghauser Hauptburg mit der Fischauge-Fotoeinstellung

    The most important construction period under the last Dukes of Lower Bavaria (Henry the Rich 1393-1450, Ludwig the Rich 1450-1479, George the Rich 1479-1503); expansion of the facility to its current form comes under pressure from the Turkish threat (1480-1490); ducal residence; the castle is a self-contained community (defence and residential castle)

  • 16th century
    Schwurfinger im Burghof der Burg Burghausen

    Loss of the castle’s residential character after the Landshut War of Succession (1503-1505); Princes’ residence (sons of Albert IV the Wise); the castle continues to be of great military importance as a main weapons site; minor modifications; begin of decline

  • 17th century
    Georgstor auf der Burghauser Burg mit Brücke

    Fortifications strengthened against the threat of the advancing Swedes (1632)

  • 18th century
    Der Bastionsgarten und die Burghauser Hauptburg

    Expansion of outer fortifications according to the system of master fortress builder Marshal Sebastian de Vauban (1633-1707); turmoil of the Wars of Succession in the first half of the 18th century; extensive rebuilding (garrison castle from 1763); 1779 Peace of Teschen: Burghausen becomes a border town as the Inn section is lost to Austria

  • 19th century
    Burg Burghausen frontal mit blauem Himmel

    All outer fortifications torn down by French troops under General Ney (1800-1801); Napoleon declares the castle no longer fit for use as a fortress (1809); modifications, demolition, levelling and privatisation of parts of the castle; discharge of the garrison (1891); start of large-scale renovations to the main castle (1896); renovation work on the entire castle facility since 1960/1970

It appears that you are using Microsoft Internet Explorer as your web browser to access our site.

For practical and security reasons, we recommend that you use a current web browser such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Opera, or Edge. Internet Explorer does not always display the complete content of our website and does not offer all the necessary functions.