Baroque jewel at the gates of the city
First mentioned in 788 as “Raitinhaselach”, the Cistercians founded their first monastery in Altbayern (Old Bavaria) here in 1146. Raitenhaslach lies at a bend in the Salzach just five kilometres from Burghausen, nestled in the wild and romantic riverscape.
The original three-aisled Romanesque pillar basilica, consecrated in 1186, was fitted with a sumptuous interior between 1743 and 1746 and became a true jewel of Bavarian Baroque. Particularly worth seeing are the altars, the frescoes and the tombstones of the Wittelsbach family, who were once Kings of Bavaria.
In the prelate’s building, the monastery complex boasts two more hidden treasures, which have only been opened to the public recently after remaining untouched for over 200 years. One is the “Pope’s Room”, where legend has it that Pope Pius IV spent the night in 1782, and which is virtually “frozen” the way it was in the 1760s. The other is the “Stone Hall” - festive Baroque par excellence, now used for concerts and events once again.